My Cart
Close

Terpenes and the entourage effect

Despite whole cannabis and hemp plant extracts typically containing a combination of over 400 different cannabinoids and terpenes, most research on the topic use either synthetic and/or single molecule cannabinoids. 


We know that many of these compounds work together synergistically to create an end result in which the individual effects and benefits of each molecule enhances the effects and benefits of the other compounds. This is what scientists are calling the “entourage effect”. 


The question then arises, what conclusions can we really draw regarding the data obtained from typical cannabinoid research that uses single molecule isolates? In other words, what impact does the entourage effect have on the efficacy of medical cannabis based medicines?

The entourage effect: cannabinoids and terpenes

Before delving into the entourage effect, let’s first take a look at the players involved in creating this synergistic effect - cannabinoids and terpenes.

Cannabinoids

The cannabinoids found in the cannabis plant each have their own set of potential benefits and therapeutic effects. The effects of each is primarily due to the way in which they interact with the endocannabinoid system (ECS) as well as how they modulate, bind to and affect the cannabinoid receptors located throughout our brain and body. 


For instance, THC’s effects mainly arise because it acts as a partial agonist for CB1 and CB2 receptors. This is the underlying cause behind many of its properties and benefits, including psychoactive analgesic, muscle relaxant, antispasmodic, neuroprotective, antioxidant, and anti-inflammatory properties. 


On the other hand, CBD has no binding affinity with either of CB1 or CB2 cannabinoid receptors. This accounts for its unusual pharmacological versatility and its ability to modulate the behavior of a variety of other, non-ECS receptors, genes and enzymes. 


Tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), an analogue and modulator of THC, is a powerful anticonvulsant and anti-inflammatory in addition to producing weight loss, decreased body fat and serum leptin concentrations. CBD’s analogue, cannabidivarin (CBDV), is also a powerful anticonvulsant, anti-inflammatory and analgesic. And cannabigerivarin (CBGV), CBG’s analogue, is thought to have analgesic and anti-inflammatory properties. 


Cannabichromene (CBC) is an anandamide uptake inhibitor showing pronounced antidepressant effects while cannabigerol (CBG) inhibits gamma aminobutyric acid (GABA) uptake suggesting that it has muscle relaxant, analgesic and anti-erythemic effects. 


Finally, CBN, a by-product of THC deterioration, is a powerful anticonvulsant, anti-inflammatory and antiviral agent that can help promote bone formation and inhibit breast cancer growth.

Terpenes

Terpenes are volatile, odiferous and oily compounds responsible for repelling insects, prevent fungal and bacterial infections as well as attract pollinators. There are around 200 terpenes found in the cannabis plant and is what gives different cannabis strains their unique smell characteristics. 


The most notable of these is beta-caryophyllene that binds directly to the CB2 cannabinoid receptor in the same way cannabinoids do. It is considered a promising therapeutic compound for inflammatory and auto-immune conditions as well as a great help in fighting neuropathic pain. 


Below is a list of some other common terpenes found in cannabis and a summary of their positive properties:

Terpenes

Properties


Limonene


Immunostimulant, anxiolytic, anti-bacterial, anti-cancer


a-Pinene


Anti-inflammatory, bronchodilator, aids memory


b-Myrcene


Anti-inflammatory, analgesic, hypnotic, muscle relaxant, sedative


Linalool


Anxiolytic, sedative, anaesthetic, analgesic, anti-convulsant


Nerolidol


Sedative, antimalarial, antimicrobial


Terpinolene


Anti-fungal, antibacterial, antioxidant

What is the entourage effect?

The first to speak of a potential synergistic effect between THC and CBD, was cannabinoid researcher Ethan Russo in the British Journal of Pharmacology. He recognized an entourage effect between cannabinoids as well as the various terpenes found in the cannabis plant. In his review of the potential benefits of using CBD with THC, Russo makes the case that CBD has the ability to tame many of the unwanted side effects (e.g. acute intoxication, anxiety and feelings of panic) of THC by modulating its psychoactivity.


Further support for the cannabinoid-cannabinoid entourage effect is when scientists investigated the effect of full-spectrum extracts vs CBD isolates on dose-responses. They found that when a CBD isolate was given to rats for the treatment of pain, dosages needed to steadily increase in order to remain effective, eventually reaching a ceiling of effectiveness. However, when a full-spectrum CBD oil was administered, the analgesic effect remained constant, without required dosage increases or ceiling effects.

A study on the effects of medical cannabis on human breast cancer cells showed that full-spectrum extracts were more effective in reducing tumor size than THC alone. The researchers theorized that this was due to the entourage effect and the presence of small amounts of other cannabinoids, such as CBG and tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THCA). 


Likewise, in a study investigating the anticonvulsant effects of CBD, scientists compared the effects of five types of full spectrum extracts. Each of them contained the same amount of CBD but had different cannabinoid and terpene profiles. Their results mirrored those of previously mentioned research as they found significant differences between the effectiveness of each extract with regards to seizure development. 

Similar to synergies between cannabinoids, there is also evidence of a potential synergy between cannabinoids and terpenes. Research shows that a cannabinoid-terpene entourage effect can increase blood flow, hence enhancing cortical activity and kill antibiotic-resistant pathogens like MRSA. Similarly, it also has the potential to enhance the treatment of pain, inflammation, anxiety, depression, seizure disorders, fungal and bacterial infections. It can also buffer THC’s psychoactivity in combination with CBD. 


Scientists theorize that the cause of an entourage effect lies in the ability of each cannabis plant compound to act on different parts of the body in different ways and therefore to produce varying effects. However, at the same time, they also work together to enhance the benefits of each, especially with cannabinoid-terpene interactions. This is because some terpenes can assist cannabinoids in penetrating the blood-brain barrier that influences the amount of each cannabinoid that passes through that barrier.

Final thoughts on terpenes and entourage effects

The entourage effect is very real and makes a case for research scientists to investigate cannabis compounds holistically as well as in different combinations. This is the only way to fully understand the pharmacological effects of medical cannabis on different conditions. It is also a crucial step in developing truly and consistently effective phytopharmaceutical cannabinoid medications.

Your cart is currently empty. You must agree with the terms and conditions of sales to check out.

My Cart
Close

Terpene und der Entourage-Effekt

Obwohl ganze Cannabis- und Hanfpflanzenextrakte typischerweise eine Kombination von über 400 verschiedenen Cannabinoiden und Terpenen enthalten, verwenden die meisten Forschungsarbeiten zu diesem Thema entweder synthetische und/oder Einzelmolekül-Cannabinoide.


Wir wissen, dass viele dieser Verbindungen synergetisch zusammenwirken, um ein Endergebnis zu erzielen, bei dem die individuellen Wirkungen und Vorteile jedes Moleküls die Wirkungen und Vorteile der anderen Verbindungen verstärken. Dies nennen die Wissenschaftler den "Entourage-Effekt".


Es stellt sich dann die Frage, welche Schlussfolgerungen wir wirklich aus den Daten ziehen können, die aus der typischen Cannabinoid-Forschung mit Einzelmolekül-Isolaten gewonnen wurden. Mit anderen Worten, welchen Einfluss hat der "Entourage-Effekt" auf die Wirksamkeit von medizinischen Medikamenten auf Cannabisbasis?

Der Entourage-Effekt: Cannabinoide und Terpene

Bevor wir uns mit dem Entourage-Effekt befassen, wollen wir zunächst einen Blick auf die an der Schaffung dieses Synergieeffekts beteiligten Akteure werfen - Cannabinoide und Terpene.

Cannabinoide

Die in der Cannabispflanze gefundenen Cannabinoide haben jeweils ihren eigenen Satz an potenziellen Vorteilen und therapeutischen Wirkungen. Die Wirkung jedes einzelnen Cannabinoids beruht in erster Linie auf der Art und Weise, wie es mit dem Endocannabinoid-System (ECS) interagiert und wie es die Cannabinoidrezeptoren in unserem Gehirn und Körper moduliert, an sie bindet und sie beeinflusst.


Zum Beispiel entstehen die Wirkungen von THC hauptsächlich, weil es als partieller Aktivator der CB1- und CB2-Rezeptoren wirkt. Dies ist die zugrunde liegende Ursache für viele seiner Eigenschaften und Vorteile, einschließlich psychoaktiver, schmerzstillender, muskelentspannender, krampflösender, neuroprotektiver, antioxidativer und entzündungshemmender Eigenschaften.


Auf der anderen Seite hat CBD keine Bindungsaffinität mit den CB1- oder CB2-Cannabinoidrezeptoren. Dies erklärt ihre ungewöhnliche pharmakologische Vielseitigkeit und ihre Fähigkeit, das Verhalten einer Vielzahl von anderen, nicht ECS-Rezeptoren, Genen und Enzymen zu modulieren.


Tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), ein Analogon und Modulator von THC, ist ein starkes Antikonvulsivum und entzündungshemmend. Es bewirkt darüber hinaus Gewichtsabnahme und verringerte Körperfett- und Serumleptinkonzentrationen. Das Analogon des CBD, Cannabidivarin (CBDV), ist ebenfalls ein wirksames Antikonvulsivum, Entzündungshemmer und Analgetikum. Auch Cannabigerivarin (CBGV), das Analogon von CBG, hat vermutlich schmerzstillende und entzündungshemmende Eigenschaften.


Cannabichromen (CBC) ist ein Anandamid-Aufnahmehemmer mit ausgeprägter antidepressiver Wirkung, während Cannabigerol (CBG) die Aufnahme von Gamma-Aminobuttersäure (GABA) hemmt, was darauf hindeutet, dass es muskelrelaxierende, schmerzstillende und antierythemische Wirkungen hat.


CBN ist ein Nebenprodukt der THC-Verschlechterung und ist ein starkes Antikonvulsivum, entzündungshemmendes und antivirales Mittel, das zur Förderung der Knochenbildung und zur Hemmung des Brustkrebswachstums beitragen kann.

Terpene

Terpene sind flüchtige, duftende und ölige Verbindungen, die dafür verantwortlich sind, Insekten abzuwehren, Pilz- und Bakterieninfektionen zu verhindern und Bestäuber anzulocken. In der Cannabispflanze finden sich rund 200 Terpene, die den verschiedenen Cannabis-Stämmen ihre einzigartigen Geruchseigenschaften verleihen.


Das bemerkenswerteste von ihnen ist Beta-Karyophyllen, das sich wie die Cannabinoide direkt an den CB2-Cannabinoidrezeptor bindet. Es gilt als vielversprechendes Therapeutikum bei entzündlichen und Autoimmunerkrankungen, sowie als große Hilfe bei der Bekämpfung neuropathischer Schmerzen.


Nachstehend finden Sie eine Liste einiger anderer gebräuchlicher Terpene, die in Cannabis gefunden wurden, und eine Zusammenfassung ihrer positiven Eigenschaften:

Terpene

Eigenschaften


Limonene


Immunstimulierend, anxiolytisch, antibakteriell, krebshemmend


a-Pinene


Entzündungshemmend, Bronchodilatator, hilft beim Gedächtnis


b-Myrcene


Entzündungshemmend, schmerzstillend, hypnotisierend, muskelentspannend, beruhigend


Linalool


Anxiolytikum, Sedativum, Anästhetikum, Analgetikum, Antikonvulsivum


Nerolidol


Beruhigend, antimalariamittel, antimikrobiell


Terpinolen


Antimykotisch, antibakteriell, antioxidativ

Was ist der Entourage-Effekt?

Der erste, der von einem potenziellen Synergieeffekt zwischen THC und CBDsprach, war der Cannabinoid-Forscher Ethan Russo im British Journal of Pharmacology. Er erkannte einen Entourage-Effekt zwischen Cannabinoiden sowie den verschiedenen Terpenen, die in der Cannabispflanze gefunden wurden. In seinem Überblick über die potenziellen Vorteile der Verwendung von CBD zusammen mit THC argumentiert Russo, dass CBD die Fähigkeit besitzt, viele der unerwünschten Nebenwirkungen (z.B. akute Vergiftung, Angst und Panikgefühle) von THC durch Modulation seiner Psychoaktivität zu zähmen.


Eine weitere Unterstützung für den Cannabinoid-Cannabinoid-Entourage-Effekt ergibt sich, wenn Wissenschaftler die Wirkung von Vollspektrum-Extrakten, gegenüber CBD-Isolaten, auf die Dosis-Wirkungen untersuchten. Sie stellten fest, dass, wenn ein CBD-Isolat Ratten zur Schmerzbehandlung verabreicht wurde, die Dosen kontinuierlich erhöht werden mussten, um wirksam zu bleiben und schließlich eine Obergrenze der Wirksamkeit zu erreichen. Wenn jedoch ein CBD-Öl über das gesamte Spektrum verabreicht wurde, blieb die schmerzstillende Wirkung konstant, ohne dass die Dosis erhöht werden musste oder eine Höchstgrenze erreicht wurde.

Eine Studie über die Wirkung von medizinischem Cannabis auf menschlichen Brustkrebszellen zeigte, dass Vollspektrum-Extrakte die Tumorgröße wirksamer reduzieren als THC allein. Die Forscher theoretisierten, dass dies auf den Entourage-Effekt und das Vorhandensein geringer Mengen anderer Cannabinoide, wie CBG und Tetrahydrocannabinsäure (THCA), zurückzuführen sei.


Ebenso verglichen die Wissenschaftler, in einer Studie zur Untersuchung der krampflösenden Wirkung von CBD, die Wirkungen von fünf Arten von Vollspektrum-Extrakten. Jedes dieser Extrakte enthielt die gleiche Menge CBD, wies jedoch unterschiedliche Cannabinoid- und Terpenprofile auf. Ihre Ergebnisse spiegelten die Ergebnisse der zuvor erwähnten Forschung wider, da sie signifikante Unterschiede zwischen der Wirksamkeit der einzelnen Extrakte im Hinblick auf die Anfallsentwicklung feststellten.

Ähnlich wie bei den Synergien zwischen Cannabinoiden, gibt es auch Hinweise auf eine potenzielle Synergie zwischen Cannabinoiden und Terpenen. Die Forschung zeigt, dass ein Cannabinoid-Terpen-Entourage-Effekt den Blutfluss erhöhen kann, wodurch die kortikale Aktivität verbessert und antibiotikaresistente Erreger wie MRSA abgetötet werden können. In ähnlicher Weise hat es auch das Potenzial die Behandlung von Schmerzen, Entzündungen, Angstzuständen, Depressionen, Anfallsleiden, Pilz- und Bakterieninfektionen zu verbessern. Es kann auch die Psychoaktivität von THC in Kombination mit CBD puffern.


Wissenschaftler gehen davon aus, dass die Ursache für einen Entourage-Effekt in der Fähigkeit jedes Cannabis-Pflanzenwirkstoffs liegt, auf verschiedene Körperteile auf unterschiedliche Weise zu wirken und daher unterschiedliche Wirkungen zu erzeugen. Gleichzeitig arbeiten sie jedoch auch zusammen, um den Nutzen jedes einzelnen Stoffes zu steigern, insbesondere bei Cannabinoid-Terpen-Wechselwirkungen. Das liegt daran, dass einige Terpene den Cannabinoiden helfen können die Blut-Hirn-Schranke zu durchdringen, was die Menge der einzelnen Cannabinoide beeinflusst, die diese Schranke passieren.

Abschließende Gedanken zu Terpenen und Entourage-Effekten

Der Entourage-Effekt ist sehr real und spricht dafür, dass Forscher Cannabisverbindungen sowohl ganzheitlich als auch in verschiedenen Kombinationen untersuchen sollten. Dies ist die einzige Möglichkeit, die pharmakologischen Wirkungen von medizinischem Cannabis unter verschiedenen Bedingungen vollständig zu verstehen. Es ist auch ein entscheidender Schritt zur Entwicklung wirklich und konsequent wirksamer phytopharmazeutischer Cannabinoid-Medikamente.

Your cart is currently empty. Sie müssen mit den Verkaufsbedingungen einverstanden sein, um auschecken zu können.